Pumpkin Overnight Oats

I’m sure you are all tired of hearing about school stuff, but I got a response from Manitoba Student Aid last night and am SO excited about it I can’t help it!  I am official eligible for $2750 of assistance.  $1900 of that is from Canadian Government Grants!  I don’t have to pay back a grant!  I only have to repay $800 of the money I’m getting from the government.  It’s very very exciting.  I don’t know if it will cover all my tuition, but it will cover a very large chunk of it.  Now all I have to do is register for classes in august and see how much the bill comes out to. 

Another great thing is that Adrian is going to be here by the end of August and will be staying for 6 months.  I’m excited and rather stressed about it right now.  I want to start doing some serious cleaning and reorganizing to make sure there’s room for his clothes and just because it does need to be done.  I have some boxes that I never ever look into that need to be cleared out and want to get some clothes ready for value village or mcc.  It will make more room in my closet and dresser which will be nice.  I also have a plan for something special that needs to be sorted out by the time Adrian gets here but I can’t say what it is because he reads this!  Fingers crossed everything will work out.

Now…pumpkin overnight oats which weren’t done overnight.  I have plain canned pumpkin in my fridge, leftovers from an attempt to make hot pumpkin oats which I ended up not liking at all.  I love pumpkin and didn’t want it to go bad.  The pumpkin deserves better then that.  I’m also out of bananas and am missing my overnight oats.  Last night I had a revelation!  What if I used canned pumpkin instead of bananas in my oats and add pumpkin pie spice and extra cinnamon?  It would be pumpkin pie in a ziploc twistylidded container.  Pumpkin pie with no crust!  My brain, which was half asleep at the time, was convinced it couldn’t go wrong.  Surprisingly the next morning I actually remembered to try this, so it was thrown together literally 2 minutes before I left for the bus.  It started to thicken immediately, I probably could’ve eaten it right away.  It does need more sweetening then overnight oats with banana does, but I don’t care! 

Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats

1/3 cup rolled oats

2 tbsp ground flax or chia seeds

1/2 cup plain canned pumpkin

3/4 cup non-dairy milk (I use soy)

3/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1-2 tsp agave nectar  (totally going to try maple syrup next time)

Mix in a bowl or twisty-lidded container before leaving the house or going to bed.  Get to work or wake up in the morning and chow down. 

Verdict?  I love pumpkin pie filling.

Leave a Reply

