Veggie Curry

Ever since I made the lamb and chickpea curry I had been hankering to make a curry that involved chickpeas, spinach and potatoes.  Lacking decent motivation to cook until today, it got put on the back burner.  My work schedule is pretty awesome for the next 2 weeks and this has provided me the chance to cook before I feel like passing out.  I wasn’t planning on posting this until tomorrow, but my ipod ran out of batteries while I was laying in bed and reading so I’m attempting to charge it before I go to sleep since I can only fall asleep with music on these days.  Aaaaanyways…here is my tasty veggie curry.

Veggie Curry

4 red potatoes, peeled and chopped

1 tbsp canola oil

1 onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1″ piece of ginger, peeled and chopped

5 tsp curry powder (I think my curry powder is mild…)

2 dried whole red chilis

2 tsp cumin powder

1 (14 oz) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 (14 oz) can diced tomatoes

1 package frozen spinach, thawed and drained

1 (14 oz) can coconut milk

3 tsp garam marsala

1 tsp salt

1. Place the potatoes in a pot, cover with water and bring to a boil.  Boil about 10 minutes or until potatoes are soft.  Drain and set aside.

2. In a large saucepan, saute the onion and garlic in the oil untill the onion is transparent.  Add ginger, cumin, chili’s, curry powder, and salt.  Saute for about 2-3 minutes.

3. Add the chickpeas, tomatoes, spinach, potatoes and coconut milk.  Bring to a simmer, add garam marsala and simmer for about 10 minutes.  Serve with basmati rice or naan.

Leave a Reply

