Turkey Bean Chili

Since I’m sort of kinda occasionally trying to use up the meat that I’ve purchased in the past I decided to make a large pot of Turkey Chili this weekend.  I only used half the amount of turkey I was supposed to and added extra beans since that’s my favorite part anyway!

Turkey Bean Chili

1 lb Ground Turkey

1 onion, chopped

1 green pepper, chopped

4 (14oz) cans diced stewed tomatoes

1 can Kidney Beans, drained and rinsed

1 (15oz) can Chili Beans, not drained

1 (15oz) can Black Beans, drained and rinsed

1 (15oz) can White Beans, drained and rinsed

1 (15oz) can Pinto Beans, drained and rinsed

1 tbsp Chili Powder

1 Jalapeno, diced

1 tsp Cumin

1 tsp Salt

3/4 tsp Black Pepper

1. Brown the Turkey in a frying pan, place in slow cooker.  Saute the onion and peppers in the pan untill onions are translucent.

2. Add everything into a slow cooker, cook on high for 2-3 hours or on low for about 6-ish.  Can cook longer then this if it needs to.

Personally it wasn’t nearly spicy enough.  I left all the seeds in the jalapeno too.  Next time I will add some diced banana peppers, another jalapeno and probably more chili powder to up the heat.  I also used mostly beans that I cooked myself from dry and froze in 2 cup portions.   The spice level allowed me to give some to my parents, I hope they enjoy it when they try it!  One of the nice things about chili is that it’s easy to freeze and keeps awhile.  It’s something I’ll have to tweak a bit, but is a good base to build from.

Leave a Reply

