Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

Last summer was the first summer where I was energetic and motivated enough to do some canning.  My mother was thankfully easy to convince generous to allow me to use her kitchen for the process.  Included in the list of things we canned was the following recipe for freezer spaghetti sauce.  I was picky about ingredients and everything was bought from local farmers in Altona, Manitoba.  One place ripped me off and charged me $10 for a bunch of parsley and 1 head of garlic…I will not be getting anything from them this year.  It was our first time making homemade tomato sauce and we both loved it.  (My dad did not, but he doesn’t like tomato sauce so his opinion doesn’t count much.) 

The recipe made 14 pint jars of sauce, which is enough for 2-4 people depending on how much other stuff you add to the sauce just before serving.  Now, even tho I left about 3-4 jars with my mom that still left 10 jars which I assumed would be more than enough to last me the winter.  And it would’ve been if a certain 6’3″ Mexican with an appetite like a horse (also known as my boyfriend) hadn’t crashed my place for 6 weeks last fall.  We ate a lot of pasta.  He loved the sauce.  I suppose it was a fair trade.  I’ve got 2 jars left and I don’t know if it’s going to be enough to last till tomatoes are in season again!

Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

 

4 Onions, chopped

4 Cloves Garlic, chopped

1 Green Bell Pepper, Chopped

1/2 cup Vegetable Oil

16 cups Chopped Tomatoes

2 Tbsp dried Oregano

2 Tbsp dried Basil

1/4 cup Parsley, Chopped

1/4 cup White Sugar

2 Tbsp Salt

3/4 tsp Black Pepper

1. In a very large pot, saute the onions, garlic and green pepper in the oil.  Cook untill the onion is transparent.

2. Add the remaining ingredients and cook , covered, on low for about 1-2 hours, stirring frequently.  (Keep it at a gentle simmer)  You can also do this in a slow cooker, cooking on low for 2-3 hours.  The Sauce will be more liquidy using a slow cooker.  Puree using a hand or immersion blender if desired, it looks like store-bought sauce when you do this.

3. Pour into pint jars or freezer- safe containers.  Let cool and store in freezer.

To Serve:

Add 1/2 can tomato paste and heat through.  We’ve tried it with a number of additions including Ground Beef, Hot Italian Sausage, Mushrooms, Zucchini, and Spinach.  It’s all tasty.

One thought on “Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

  1. […] busy as it’s ended up.  The list for this weekend was supposed to be Spaghetti Sauce (recipe here), Cabbage Borscht (recipe to come), and Dill Pickles (my grandma’s recipe).  The first […]

Leave a Reply

