Vegan Overnight Oats

One of the blogs I read every day is Oh She Glows.  She’s started a number of trends in the blogging world like Green Monsters and, to a lesser extent (I think), Savory Oats.  Lately it’s been all about Vegan Overnight Oats.  I decided I was feeling brave Monday night and made a bowl before going to bed. 

Vegan Overnight Oats

1/3 cup regular oats

3/4 cup non-dairy milk

2 tbsp ground flax seed

1 small ripe banana, peeled and smashed

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Directions: Mix ingredients in bowl, cover with saran wrap and place in fridge overnight.  In the morning, remove from fridge, stir and add magical extras!

Magical Extra Ideas:

nut butter

maple syrup

chocolate chips

honey

fresh fruit

granola

nuts

I did mine with cashew butter and maple syrup.  My verdict?  It was ok.  I might make it occasionally as it was very easy and I could put it into a tupperware container at night, put the extra toppings on in the morning and take it to work.  The flavour was good but the texture wasn’t my favorite…it was kind of oozy and almost gummy, probably due to the ground flax seed.  At least it was tasty!

Leave a Reply

