Ah the Simple Things

Valentine’s Day is over, and I actually think I had the best one ever.  No, I wasn’t with my sweetie, I didn’t get any chocolates, stuffed animals, cards, flowers, and I didn’t go out for supper or get any overly dramatic displays of affection.  I did, however, spend the day with people I love…my parents.  Since it was a long weekend in Manitoba this weekend, I decided to make the trek out to Altona to visit my parents, spend some time baking, and to visit a friend and her very pregnant Great Dane.  The plan was to learn how to make pie dough.  The plan did not get carried out, but that’s ok. 

On Saturday Mom and I baked 3 kinds of cookies.  We did Oatmeal Raisin, Oatmeal Chocolate Chip, and Sugar cookies.  Mom was surprised and a little amazed that I used 100% whole wheat flour in all 3 kinds with no problems whatsoever.  Then on Sunday I made my 90 minute cinnamon buns, which are amazingly awesome, and Monday brought about my granola bars, which mom requested packed with dried fruit and butterscotch chips.  Saturday morning I woke up to fresh whole wheat waffles too..awesome with peanut butter, a banana and syrup.  Looks like I need to get a waffle iron!  Too bad I don’t know where I would store it…

Leave a Reply

