Oatmeal Revelation

I don’t like oatmeal with dried fruit.

😮

After making my steel cut oatmeal for a few weeks with a variety of dried fruit, I’ve added nuts the last two times and prefer it with just nuts.  The fruit just gets too bland and doesn’t really taste like anything after 8 hours in a slow cooker.  My new favorite recipe is as follows:

1cup steel cut oats

3 cups water

1 cup soymilk

1/2 cup pecan pieces

1/2 cup walnut pieces

cook for 8 hours in a 2 quart slowcooker on low.  Serve with honey and soymilk.

I also bought some agave necter I’m going to try with it tomorrow.  I’ve been intrigued by “Green monsters” and want to start trying it.  Most of the recipes I’ve seen have included protein powder to make it more filling, and while I’d like to try it, I can’t justify spending the $40 on a container of protein powder right now.  If/When I find a roommate I’ll probably pick some up.

Leave a Reply

