Fig and Cranberry Slowcooker Oatmeal

At about 10pm last night, when I was supposed to be crawling into bed, I decided to throw some of my new steel cut oatmeal into the slow cooker to see how it was going to work out.  The recipe inspiration came from this cookbook.

Fig and Cranberry Slowcooker Oatmeal

1 cup steel cut oats

2/3 cup sweetened dried cranberries

2/3 cup chopped dried figs

4 1/2 cups water

1/2 cup soymilk

1. Put everything into a 2 quart slow cooker.  Cook on low for 8-9 hours.  Serve with brown sugar and soymilk.

It was alright, I definitly prefer the taste and texture of steel cut oats to rolled oats in oatmeal, but it wasn’t as sweet as I thought it would be as I find dried figs rather sweet.  The figs weren’t as…figgy…tasting and I couldn’t really taste the cranberries.  I added about 1 tbsp of brown sugar and a drizzle of soymilk after the initial taste and it was much better afterwards.  It filled my 2 quart slowcooker and I put the rest in the fridge for tomorrow and the weekend.  One of the best things about doing this was that it took me literally 5 minutes to throw everything together and turn it on.  It would also be really easy to add different types of dried fruit.  (dates, cherries, raisins, and apples come to mind)  Adding some chopped walnuts or pecans before serving would also be tasty.

Leave a Reply

