Leek and Potato Soup

This weekend I was determined to make soup and can it for lunches this week.  I made the most amazing leek and potato soup EVER, it was a little bit spicy, just the right amount of salt, and full of flavor.  It was also cheap and very very easy to make, even with having to puree it.  My only problem came when I canned it in 3 pint jars and one larger jar.  They all seemed to seal, so I left them on the counter (no dairy in the soup) since there’s no room in the fridge.  Well, I went to pack my lunch yesterday and one of the pint jars and the large jar apparently un-sealed themselves and it went bad.  😦  I guess the potatos went rancid or something, I’m not quite sure but it smelled pretty bad.  The jars that sealed properly are fine, but I squished them into the fridge…just to be safe.

 

Leek and Potato Soup

 

1/4 cup margarine

2 leeks, white parts only, sliced thin and washed

1 onion, sliced

4 potatoes, small dice

6 cups vegetable stock

1 tsp pepper

 

1. melt margarine in a medium stock pot or pan, add onion, leek and potatoes.  Cook on medium for 5 minutes, or untill soft but not browned.

2. Add stock and pepper.  Bring to a simmer and cook for 15-20 minutes or untill potatoes are cooked through. 

3. Puree in batches in a blender, leaving it somewhat chunky.

 

Ta-da!  Delicious, homemade, vegetarian soup!

Leave a Reply

